Food Photography Challenge ~ March

This months challenge was “Splash” and admittedly I strayed a bit this month…my idea originally was to do a dripping tea bag, which I though would qualify in a backwards kind of way…and I did actually photograph it but it turned out **horrible**.
I wanted to do a very clean fresh look for the tea shot and I didn’t even think that with all light-colored props a dark brown dripping tea bag would look very out-of-place (not to mention totally unappealing!). One rule of thumb I’ve learned regarding food photography is that if the photo doesn’t make you want to reach in to the picture and taste it then you failed!
Oh well! I still had fun and here are some of my best shots! Don’t forget to check out the other photographers our circle to check out there amazing splash concepts (I’ve seen a few sneak peaks and they are so awesome!). Click on Jennifer Olson | San Luis Obispo, CA Photographer  to continue the circle!
storyboard-comp-43

  1. #1 by jenniferolsonimages on March 20, 2012 - 10:58 am

    Heehee! I love how you thought outside of the box! I think that idea could totally work! xo!

  2. #2 by Tammy Bilodeau on March 20, 2012 - 12:30 pm

    Wow such beautiful PP on these!! I love the soft feel of them and the simple serene collage you have done is so lovely….oh and that little saying on the tea bag string…how much more perfect could that be!

  3. #3 by Kim Kelly - Liv Life (@LivLifeToo) on March 20, 2012 - 3:22 pm

    I LOVE the quote on the bag!! It simply sums it all up. Well done!

  4. #4 by Tiffany | Develop on March 20, 2012 - 6:30 pm

    Totally agree with Tammy about the little saying. I was going to say the same thing!

  5. #5 by Carey on March 21, 2012 - 7:30 am

    I love your idea of a less traditional splash and I confess, I’m dying to see your “horrible” shots. Nonetheless, these are beautiful, soothing images. They belong in a tea house for sure!

  6. #6 by Kat on March 21, 2012 - 7:19 pm

    I really like your tea bag shot at the end there. Who would have guessed that it would make a great subject. Nicely styled.

  7. #7 by Laurie on March 22, 2012 - 1:46 pm

    I love the soothing colors in this collection. And I love your tea shoot!
    And the little saying on the tea bag.. how did you get that! I want tea bags of inspiration!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 248 other followers

