Good Deeds

So the other day as I was waiting in line at the drive through coffee shop (yes, it is an indulgence) and changing my tunes on my ipod, CRASH. Rear-ended. It’s a good thing that Coen wasn’t in the car with me because I whipped off my sunglasses and started cursing up a storm. We just payed off the car and a few days ago received the title (or deed, ha!) in the mail. Apparently the guy behind me had gotten out of his truck to throw away some trash and had forgotten to put the truck in park (it’s the little details).

Our little Hyundai was no match for his big construction truck. While he sustained no damage what-so-ever, my little car had a nice bruise on it’s rear-end, not much but still an eye-sore. We exchanged info and he expressed to me that he would rather just pay cash to get it fixed than have his insurance involved which was a good thing since we have already had our share of accidents for the year. So after I got my coffee (which he payed for, thank you very much) I went on my merry way and thought about the fact that the lady in line in front of me was lucky because she was not in a car and would have been totally run over if I hadn’t been there.

I didn’t really want some guy to have to pay out of his pocket for this stupid dent in my car. Auto shops charge big bucks for things like fenders, as we well knew from our last accident. And since we aren’t the kind of people who really care all that much about the look of our ride, I pretty much came to the conclusion that I was just going to say the heck with it and let this one slide.

But then I had a better idea.

I called this guy up and told him that my husband and I had talked it over and since we had just payed the car off and didn’t want our insurance to go up yet again that we would not pursue re-payment… in exchange for him donating a denomination of his own choosing to a charity of his choice. His response was “Well I’m sure you noticed all the scars I have, I had a pretty bad burn about 40 years ago and Children’s Hospital took really good care of me, so I’ll write a check for $500 to them.” Wow, I was thinking more like $50, but the more the better right?

The lady at the coffee shop told me he was a good guy and that he would make it right, and I think this will make it just perfect.

Oh and since this is kind of a photoblog, of course I took a picture of it. Here you go…One dent for me, $500 for kids everywhere.

500buckaroos

, ,

  1. #1 by Mandi on May 23, 2008 - 8:05 pm

    Wow, great story!

  2. #2 by Dave on May 27, 2008 - 9:43 am

    shoulda taken him for all he’s worth!!!! … ahem…. I mean, way to pay it forward good deed doer.

  3. #3 by Vanny on May 28, 2008 - 3:53 am

    That really is an awesome story. Its great when the world works out that way! Most of the time we forget how it feels to do the right thing. Thanks reminder!
    (:

  4. #4 by Jill on May 29, 2008 - 10:32 am

    What a great story…..and what a good ending for everyone. You are amazing!

Leave a Reply

