It’s just you and me, kid.

We are on our second day of Dave’s 10 day out-of-town work trip. Dave does a fair amount of traveling but at least not like he used to (3 months in Cambodia, anyone?). Still, it takes a bit more out of me to be the only one “in charge” and not have someone to fall back on for last minute grocery runs, middle of the night wakings and just the day to day rigmarole of being a parent. Coen is old enough to understand the concept of a “trip” which helps, although now he thinks that every trip includes going to visit Aunt Mandi.

So yesterday we headed out for some retail therapy. Coen has inherited his Father’s addiction to shoe shopping, except that he’s always drawn to the sparkly girl shoes, which kind of worries me a little. He found a pair of red pumps – size 9 – and happily tried them on. If I wasn’t such a moron I would have remembered to bring my camera so I could get a shot of him walking around in them. Alas, we settled on a cute pair of sandals for him…and three pairs of new shoes for me…sheeesh, I must really miss Dave. Oh and one of the pairs I bought were $10 Dexter flats, my Dad would be proud.

  1. #1 by Mandi on July 3, 2008 - 11:02 pm

    You are always welcome to come visit if it will make things easier for Coen to understand. 😉 Good luck with the parenting and thanks for the language advice!

  2. #2 by Dave on July 4, 2008 - 12:54 am

    I do not have a shoe addiction!! just cause I leave em laying around…sheesh. hope he’s treating you well….sure miss you two already.

Leave a Reply

