Playing with photo software

I know pretty much nothing about photo editing software…other than you can download free trial versions that let you play with them for 30 days at Adobe. Pretty much the photos I take are the photos I take. I borrowed a book from the library yesterday on PhotoShop Elements, the sissy version of The PhotoShop. I decided to play with it today while Coen was napping and here is why it was not fun.

1) I decided to edit a picture that I had previously taken because I liked the way the colors popped so I wanted to enhance them…but the item with the popping color was a pair of shoe laces. Shoe laces people! Talk about tedious!

2) I used a mouse with a rollerball…shoe laces people! What was I thinking?!?

3) The rest of the picture already had subdued colors so when I FINALLY finished with the shoe laces and looked at the photo…I was like “What’s the difference?”

Basically I added a B&W layer and then removed the layer over the shoe laces to reveal the originalĀ color. This would be cool in a whole lot of pictures…but not the one that I chose. Maybe I’ll just stick with learning the basics for now…here is the before and after, just in case you were wondering.

Before
workin_boots2

After
Playing with photoshop elements

Not very thrilling, is it?

  1. #1 by Dad on July 17, 2008 - 5:36 pm

    You’re right, “not very thrilling” in this case but only because the boots and shoes are so close to B&W that it is hard to tell. If the original objects were more colorful the impact of the “operation” would be thrilling. I say it is a great technique to learn to use to get attention to any photo.
    You are doing fine. Thanks

Leave a Reply

