Inspiration

I’ve been thinking, reading, dreaming a lot lately about photography. It’s been about 3 months since I got my sweet new camera…and already I feel like I’ve found the art form that suits me perfectly.

Maybe you know…maybe you don’t, that at one point I was really into drawing and painting. Mostly during my teenage years. But I always painted pictures. The inspiration for everything I drew or painted was already right there –  composition, style, color…and that is what, looking back, excited me most – the capture of that one second that, if not caught, would be lost forever into our selective memories.

With photos I feel like I am creating a moment that, while real, is also at the mercy of my own style and experience of it. At this point I am more interested in photojournalistic style…I just shoot when I am inspired (or bored) and try to get the angle and exposure that captures what I see in my head or feel in my heart (oh great now I’m going to get cheesy on all y’all).

I’m really excited to move on from, “holy crap, where’s my camera?” photography to a conscious body of work…centered around one theme. I have one in the works…my brain is cranking out the details, little by little…and it might insipe it’s very own blog. I’ll definitely keep you posted…until then here is some “un”conscious pics I shot today, to keep you entertained.

Droplets

Blow!

Flick!

  1. #1 by Dad on August 7, 2008 - 9:52 pm

    GO girl….. and keep blogging.
    Find something you love and work to learn how to live by it.
    Love you,
    Dad

  2. #2 by Jonni on August 11, 2008 - 6:13 pm

    Beautiful pics. I know what you mean, I am so passionate about photography right now and want to learn more, more, more. I just bought a used book from Amazon.com called Understanding Exposure: How to Shoot Great Photographs with a Film or Digital that was recommended on a photography forum and I can’t wait to read it to improve. You really have a great talent for photography.

    hugs,
    Jonni

Leave a Reply

