More 365…

So I’ve gotten a bunch of emails about Project 365, so I thought I’d elaborate today…

As much as I would like to take credit for this ingenious idea…there are a bunch of Flickr groups dedicated to photographers on the 365 journey…I’m a part of this one. I’m not sure who originally started this particular take on the idea…so unfortunately I can’t give due credit.

Here are the rules:

1) You must be the one to compose, edit, and physically press the shutter button (timers, tripods and remotes are legit).

2) The photo has to be taken on the “day”, no taking a series of three pictures and loading them up separately…how would they know?…cameras have EXIF data that permanently stamps the date into the electronic file…and the moderators of the group do random checks if something is looking funky.

3) You have to be in the picture (duh, self-portrait!)…there are alot of lame pictures in the group…and by lame I mean one finger in the shot, etc. I mean seriously a photo of a beautiful sunset with one finger sticking into the frame, c’mon people!

Pretty simple! But pretty challenging once you put it all together. I personally think they should have a separate group for people with two-year olds. We definitely have it a little harder.

Anyhoo…I’ve already taken a shot that I really  don’t like…and now it’s stuck forever in the set, but oh well…this is supposed to be about learning. At least I made up for it today…what do you think?

008/365

  1. #1 by ELK on September 22, 2008 - 1:34 pm

    your kidding right?! that is such a nice photo…

  2. #2 by Jonni on September 22, 2008 - 6:27 pm

    WOW! What a great photo Kirsten. Sorry I have been MIA lately, I have been working on a blog redesign that’s been taking up way too much time. You are so talented with your photography.

    Hugs,
    Jonni

  3. #3 by killlashandra on September 23, 2008 - 7:30 am

    Oh that’s lovely. You can’t possibly be referring to this picture can you? I think your color in the picture came out beautifully and follows along with the softness of the flower. Glad you posted so more details about this. Not that I’ve found time to participate yet…hmmmm….

    However I totally agree with point 2, how would they know. 😉

  4. #4 by Jill on September 23, 2008 - 8:27 am

    What a BEATUITFUL shot.

  5. #5 by Irina on September 23, 2008 - 9:41 am

    hey Kirsten! i actually thought that it’s not an obligation to post a photo taken on that very day.. i have already posted 2 photos taken some other time this year (i took them myself so i can say that counts 🙂 ) and well i can’t take just one photo, i always take several which i’m going to post some day soon… what do moderators do if they find out?

Leave a Reply

