Goldfish

011/365

I have a thing for goldfish. When I was like 16 I painted a beach ball sized  goldfish in my closet. The goal was to actually paint three of them…two orange and one purple (a rip-off idea from the back of a Readers Digest) and then empty my closet, put a love-seat in there and then paint the background blue…you know, like a goldfish bowl (I was so poetic) but I never got around to anything more than that one goldfish. It was a pretty good painting if I do say so myself…my parents actually didn’t even paint over it when they sold the house. I sometimes wonder if it’s still there…hiding behind someone elses clothes. Dave has tried to convince me to drive back to the house and knock on the door to ask…but seriously, how weird would that be? “Hi…do you have a goldfish in your closet?” Right. Not going to happen. So Jill if your reading this…if you ever see your neighbors out mowing the lawn, maybe you could ask them for me… 😉

We went to the pet store today to get Coen his very first pet goldfish. Unfortunately the fish guy told us that we had to let the water sit for 24-48 hours before we actually bought it. Doh! I have to learn not to promise things to Coen that I’m not absolutely sure are going to happen. He wasn’t too terribly disappointed, though. He tried to convince me to get a lizard instead, they were pretty cute, but eeew.

So…empty glass bowl…I had to do something with it!

  1. #1 by Amber on September 25, 2008 - 8:47 am

    I remember your closet goldfish.
    It was awesome.

    Now that you own a home you could paint a goldfish in each closet.
    (If you have time away from your amazing photography.)

  2. #2 by Jill on September 26, 2008 - 2:23 pm

    hahahahaha! Next time I see the neighbors, I’ll ask. I bet it’s still there!!! You’ll have to remind me exactly which house it was. Or, I could just ask them all! Tee, hee!!!

  3. #3 by Jonni on September 30, 2008 - 7:16 pm

    That is one fun shot Kirsten. You are so creative. I hope your goldfish painting is still there. I would love to find something like that is one of my closets, but no such luck, just dull ivory walls.

    Hugs,
    Jonni

Leave a Reply

