Jumper

017/365

If there’s anything this 365 project is going to teach me it’s that I need to get as much accomplished in the camera as I can rather than just taking a so-so shot a then having to mess with it in Adobe Lightroom a bunch. This one is pretty much straight out of the camera…just a little contrast boost. I was trying out a technique that I read about in a photo magazine…basically you set your exposure for the background and then force the flash to go off to light the foreground…and this is what you get! A cool double exposed type pic!

I had to jump off our outside table about 100 times…which is more exercise than I’ve had in a long time…but I think it was worth it. I wish the tress weren’t in this one…I could always edit them out…but it’d take me like three days and I just don’t feel like it. I’ll probably go back and try this one again…when I don’t have dinner cooking on the stove and Coen trying to pull my camera off its tripod.

  1. #1 by Dallas on September 30, 2008 - 7:52 pm

    That turned out really cool. What photo magazine did you see this technique in?

  2. #2 by Kirsten Geyer on September 30, 2008 - 9:31 pm

    Check out the article here! Try it…you’ll have fun I bet…but you might kill yourself in the process!
    http://www.popphoto.com/popularphotographyfeatures/5278/flash-made-easy.html

  3. #3 by Blazey on October 1, 2008 - 10:36 am

    This is a really cool idea, and a fabulous shot; hard to believe it’s not photoshopped.

  4. #4 by dave on October 1, 2008 - 9:30 pm

    sooo cool, What amazing shots you are getting from little d40, brilliant mind, and beautiful eye.

  5. #5 by Jonni on October 2, 2008 - 9:21 pm

    Wow, this is amazing Kirsten. This looks great SOOC. It is so clever and really striking. You are so creative. Hope dinner was okay and Coen did not mess with your photo-mojo. 🙂

    Great job.

    Hugs,
    Jonni

  6. #6 by Lish on October 2, 2008 - 10:40 pm

    I like this one– the sky is almost kind of surreal… oh, and especially like the intense look of zen-like concentration on your face which belies the carefree leaping pose!
    I actually like the trees– they give a nice framing-element to the piece and tie in with your pants. Are you pinching that branch with your left hand like a forest fairy? Hahaha– looks like it!

  7. #7 by Kirsten Geyer on October 2, 2008 - 10:50 pm

    That’s my remote shutter release you see in my hand…I was really sucking at timing the shot with the auto-timer…haha! Resources, word.

  8. #8 by killlashandra on October 3, 2008 - 2:16 pm

    Whoa, that is a totally cool shot! Great effect. Glad you copied that one out of the photo magazine turned out awesome!

  9. #9 by MJPhoto on October 14, 2008 - 4:59 pm

    FANTABULOUS LESS NESS!!!! Off to check out that article now.

Leave a Reply

