Uping the anty

 019/365

I had a conversation today with my dear friend Alisha, aka creative genius, about the struggle to maintain “your best work”. And after succeeding a bit in take some good photos I’m starting to feel the pressure to always produce an awesome photo…which is kind of cramping my style, after all I only picked up a camera about 5 months ago and I still have so much to learn.

I am waiting waiting waiting for tomorrow when the great photographer  James Nachtwey unveils his super secret photography project that promises to shed light on “a shocking and under-reported global crisis”. I have been a fan of TED for a long time now and am on the edge of my seat!!!

, , ,

  1. #1 by renee @ FIMBY on October 2, 2008 - 10:31 pm

    tell me about it. I can’t wait either! I’m on vacation so in a different mode but hope I can catch it some point during the day.

    Oh, and I’d never guess you’ve only been shooting with your camera for 5 months – way to go baby.

  2. #2 by Douglas on October 2, 2008 - 10:36 pm

    Super stoked I read your blog by chance. I was not aware of James Nachtwey until this evening. His photography is absolutely amazing in so many ways. I’ve already spread the word so more people can see what he has to unveil.
    Thanks for sharing this. I will check out your project 365.
    good luck.
    sincerely,
    Douglas

  3. #3 by Lish on October 2, 2008 - 10:45 pm

    Okay, okay, I’ve always known you’ve had gorgeous eyes, but aren’t we rubbing it in a little? hahahahaha oh. No, really. this is great… but maybe a little tweaking in photoshop? Hm? Or did I just never notice they were that green?
    Keep up the great work, darlin, and do go rent “Pecker!”
    And thanks for the “creative genius” label. Now you’re giving ME something to live up to! 😉

  4. #4 by projectchronix on October 2, 2008 - 11:29 pm

    Love that shot above. So much depth contained in that Iris..

  5. #5 by Adam Sheppard on October 3, 2008 - 1:02 pm

    Hi Kirsten,
    I just took a quick break to catch up on the project. Very inspiring to say the least and you’re clearly making great strides in technique and composition. I recently got in touch with a pro photographer here in seattle (jim tillman) to try and learn a little about studio photography by helping him out. Will let you know how that goes! I like the 365 idea, really forces you to do something every day. Might have to join your flickr group!

    All the best
    Adam.

  6. #6 by killlashandra on October 3, 2008 - 2:27 pm

    Oh may have to check that out too sounds intriguing. 😉 Great shot and your eye color turned out beautifully.

  7. #7 by Amber on October 3, 2008 - 11:48 pm

    I like this 365 project!
    I visit your blog and am inspired.

    You and Lish are both amazingly talented gals I am honored to be friends with.

  8. #8 by Jonni on October 6, 2008 - 9:15 pm

    Girl, your photos rock. No pressure here, just fun, but I have to say your images are totally awesome. Amazing that you have only been taking photos for 5 months.

    hugs,
    Jonni

  9. #9 by Jenny Rebecca on October 12, 2008 - 5:50 am

    Your pictures are amazing!!! I love what you did to your eye. Thanks for all the inspiration. :o)

  10. #10 by Jenny Rebecca on October 12, 2008 - 6:17 am

    P.S. Is this a take on that famous National Geographic photo?

Leave a Reply

