Capture vs Creation

In my mind there are two processes of photography:

the Capture – I love the way this process helps me see the world…sneaking up on something and capturing the essence of it from my perspective…taking a moment that might have been lost forever if I hadn’t recorded it with a single snap of the shutter.
Water explosion

and the Creation– This is a process that Project 365 has helped me uncover…imagine if we were all tasked with the assignment to go out one day and take a photo of, let’s say, a strawberry. How would you do it? Would you take a picture of a lone strawberry in a bowl? Would you eat it and then take a photo of the little green top that is left? Would you go out into your garden and find some hidden under their vine? Would you take a shot of yourself stepping on it? 
What we took it a step further and I told you to take a picture of happiness? loss? freedom? How would you create an image that expressed  these emotions?
025/365

People keep asking me “How are you going to find 365 ways to do a self-portrait?” Admittedly…it does seem daunting, but rather because there are so many  possibilities.

,

  1. #1 by renee @ FIMBY on October 9, 2008 - 9:03 am

    Cool post. More photographic food for thought.

  2. #2 by Amber on October 9, 2008 - 9:20 am

    Awhh.
    Looks like you got a time out.
    Looks great though.

    I dig this 365 project. A little art from Kirsten everyday, what could be a better accompaniment to my morning coffee?

    -Amber

  3. #3 by Christina on October 9, 2008 - 2:02 pm

    Your 365 ideas are awesome. I don’t have that kind of creativity…I can capture a moment as it’s presented to me, but I don’t have the ability to create a scene like that. WOW, I am so impressed!

  4. #4 by Jill on October 9, 2008 - 8:50 pm

    Setting a scene takes so much more effort and thought. I am so impressed with all of the creative photos you take. It’s such fun to check in every day and see what your mind has come up with! Thanks for sharing it with the rest of the world.

  5. #5 by Jonni on October 12, 2008 - 6:54 pm

    You are doing so great with your 365 photography exercise and I can’t wait to see more. Did Coen put you in the corner for being naughty again (lol)??? :r

    Hugs,
    Jonni

  6. #6 by killlashandra on October 13, 2008 - 11:56 am

    I think you’ve done an excellent job coming up with your actions and sets for all your shots. I believe your up to 365 days. It would make a neat photo album to see at the end.

    And I love that first capture shot.

  7. #7 by Staci on October 14, 2008 - 6:15 pm

    you have quite a gift Kristen… imagination and execution! i’m so glad i found your blog through Shutter Sisters… so i can see your new portrait every day.

    now what is that thing exploding behind your son? such a cool photo with the light and shadow…

    staci

Leave a Reply

