My worst nightmare…

029/365

I’ve had this idea for a self-portrait for awhile now…I keep all my ideas in a little notebook by the couch. That way when Coen’s off to bed I don’t have to all of a sudden think of something creative. I wanted to try out a cinematic type shot…try to make it look like it could be a still from an old 40’s movie.

So I went out after it got dark this evening…had my husband park his car right in front of mine and leave the lights on. I was going to just set the camera on the dashboard, but that didn’t really work so I actually ended up bringing my tripod into the car and setting it up in front of the passenger’s seat.

I’m pretty sure the neighbors think I’m crazy. This shot was a pretty long exposure…which means I had to hold the pose perfectly still so it wouldn’t be blurry. And wouldn’t you guess it…neighbors kept walking by…and I couldn’t move a muscle…scroll back up to the shot…use your imagination. Yup, I’m going to be labeled as “that one crazy lady down the street”. He, he!

, ,

  1. #1 by renee @ FIMBY on October 13, 2008 - 8:06 am

    wow, the things you think of! You really are the crazy neighbor, that’s ok. I personally think you are having way too much fun with these self portraits 🙂 Congrats by the way on the kudos you received over at SS, isn’t this creative community so much fun?

  2. #2 by Leaca on October 13, 2008 - 11:22 am

    Very nice shot.

  3. #3 by killlashandra on October 13, 2008 - 11:53 am

    That turned out awesome! I love it in b/w. You could so be an actress in a b flick slasher movie you you’ve certainly got the look down. 😉

    Getting the tripod out was a good idea. Really helps with those night shots.

  4. #4 by Kara on October 13, 2008 - 12:35 pm

    Just found you via Shutter Sisters – I LOVE this blog. You have totally inspired me to find creative ways to capture images of myself. I never ever have pictures of myself – I’m always the one taking the pictures! Thanks for the inspiration and awesome ideas.

  5. #5 by jennifer on October 13, 2008 - 5:54 pm

    thank you shutter sisters….your shots/blog are awesome! fun. fun. fun. why is it that all the fun people i come across live on the west coast! lol i will definitely be back 🙂

  6. #6 by laura - dolcepics on October 13, 2008 - 11:13 pm

    These are so awesome. Are you going to publish them in a book? That would be totally cool!

  7. #7 by Christina on October 14, 2008 - 9:13 am

    You totally succeeded at the 40’s movie vibe! Awesome job – especially under those circumstances! LOL. This is one of my faves from you.

  8. #8 by Jill on October 14, 2008 - 2:19 pm

    I wish I had as cool of a neighbor as you! Love the shot….so creative.

  9. #9 by MJPhoto on October 14, 2008 - 4:55 pm

    It is nothing short of sensational! Fantastic work….

  10. #10 by gkgirl on October 14, 2008 - 6:01 pm

    heeheeheehee…
    love the story
    behind the shot
    almost
    as much as
    i love the shot
    itself…

    you are brilliant.

  11. #11 by Jonni on November 6, 2008 - 11:16 pm

    This is one of my very favorite shots. I know what you mean, I was photographing Sofia from under the swing the other day and people were like “what’s her problem???” (lol).

Leave a Reply

