An era gone by

037/365

I can’t remember the last time I went dancing…which is really funny because I was a professional dancer for many years. In fact I can’t even remember the last time I even thought about that particular time in my life…I just kind of moved on. I had Dave dig my old toe shoes out of the shed for this shot…another thing I forgot…how utterly painful those things were. I haven’t put these shoes on for 10 years…10 years! They were from my ballet days…before I moved on to ballroom. Now don’t get all “oh my God I can’t believe you were a dancer!” on me because I wasn’t very good. In fact I’m a better photographer after only 5 months than I was a dancer after 10 years… and I’m not being modest!!

Coen has inherited the love of dance…and also the love of taking self-portraits. After I was done taking these shots he said to me “Mom…I gotta work on my project.” and started imitating me…he has some amazing imitation skills, yo!

Coen's version

, , ,

  1. #1 by Dave on October 20, 2008 - 9:50 pm

    awesome… and she is being modest ya’ll… a totally beautiful dancer…

  2. #2 by Leaca on October 20, 2008 - 10:41 pm

    That is too cute. I think we have to want it bad enough to work for it. I have never progressed in anything like I have with photography. I love it.

  3. #3 by Wanda on October 20, 2008 - 10:56 pm

    No doubt! Sweet picture of Coen, too.

  4. #4 by Mandi on October 20, 2008 - 11:24 pm

    Yeah, I agree with Dave. A lovely dancer.

  5. #5 by ELK on October 21, 2008 - 4:55 am

    isn’t surreal to slip into a former life just by putting something on?

    ….your images are a treat today!

  6. #6 by renee @ FIMBY on October 21, 2008 - 5:41 am

    Coen’s project – love it! Love learning little tidbits of your past.

  7. #7 by Christina on October 21, 2008 - 7:09 am

    Too cool that you used to be a dancer! You’re one heck of a photographer already, so I’m betting you were a pretty decent dancer, too. Love Coen’s project!

  8. #8 by killlashandra on October 21, 2008 - 10:44 am

    I love the imitation of Mom shot. That’s just cute. Ballet is a lot of work and lot of study. I’m amazed you carried it off at all. Besides a 2 step I don’t dance much. My husband tells me I’m too heavy on my feet. 😛

  9. #9 by Blazey on October 21, 2008 - 2:37 pm

    I totally love that he’s in a sweatshirt and warm shoes and then has naked legs. Crazy kids crack me up.

  10. #10 by Jonni on November 6, 2008 - 11:09 pm

    How interesting about the dancing Kirsten. That’s really cool and I love the photo of Coen. He is going to be talented like his amamzing mama.

    hugs,
    Jonni

Leave a Reply

