Self portrait in 5 minutes or less…

 038/365

I was really tired today and not into setting up a shot for my 365 project, especially since it was just me and Coen for the night since Daddy is out putting the hip in hop with his band.  So while Coen was napping and the sun was beaming in through the window I took advantage. There is nothing better than window light for portraits. This shot was one of the old standby grab your camera, hold it in front of you and click shots. The lighting was bright enough to light my face but not bright enough to light the rest of the room so I ended up with a great black background which I extended a little to the left for more of an interesting composition.

I love how you can see my freckles in this one…at first I thought “ack! my freckles!” but sometimes you gotta embrace those things! It is me after all! If you zoom in a bunch you can actually see the window and the silhouette of my arms holding the camera in my eyeball.

Coen and I had a great afternoon and evening…we went to the library, then to the park, then home for some pizza, then took a relaxing bath together (boy will I miss it when he’s too old for the bath with Mommy), then changed into our pjs…which I never wear and Coen thought it was just sooo hilarious to see his Mom in pjs, then read his new “I SPY” book…which he loves and is insanely good at, then off to bed.

Ahhh…and now I don’t even have any shots to set up so I think I’m going to watch some tube and head to bed myself. Yay!

  1. #1 by Jill on October 21, 2008 - 9:34 pm

    Ahhhh, sounds like the perfect evening without Daddy. Relax and enjoy it, Mamma. Sending hugs!

  2. #2 by Wanda on October 21, 2008 - 11:02 pm

    Uh-MAY-zing.

  3. #3 by renee @ FIMBY on October 22, 2008 - 4:50 am

    you are so cute! serisously

  4. #4 by MGF on October 22, 2008 - 6:03 am

    LOVE the shot-

    An evening spent well.

    I have been trying to embrace my freckles over the years- my boys are helping. I posted this this past summer- they got a kick out of it.

    http://weaponsgrademoosedrool.blogspot.com/2008/07/ephelis.html

  5. #5 by killlashandra on October 22, 2008 - 7:08 am

    Wow, the absence of light by adding too much light idea worked really well in this shot. And I love your freckles. I am a follower of the freckle, as my fair complexion causes more and more to decorate my face every summer. 😉

    Sounds like a wonderfully relaxing evening too.

  6. #6 by Christina on October 22, 2008 - 10:36 am

    Pretty darn good in < 5 minutes!

    And that sounds like a pretty darn good day.

  7. #7 by Dave on October 22, 2008 - 10:42 am

    AWESOME shot babe, I love it… and the freckles is what first caught my eye, it wouldn’t be as good without. the contrast of your “natural” face and the black back is so cool… beautiful… amazing what you can pull off in 5 minutes when you know what you are doing.

  8. #8 by gkgirl on October 22, 2008 - 12:57 pm

    i totally
    covet
    your freckles!
    so cute!!

    and your evening sounds
    so
    relaxing…
    {and gives me an urge to go buy new pajamas…heehee}

  9. #9 by ELK on October 22, 2008 - 1:57 pm

    embrace away ~ I have for 50 years!

  10. #10 by Jody on October 22, 2008 - 4:28 pm

    You are just too beautiful. Gosh!! I did catch myself in my hubbys sunglasses the other day tho…does that count? =)

    Every artist was first an amateur.

  11. #11 by leaca on October 24, 2008 - 12:13 am

    I say embrace the freckles. Cute SP.

  12. #12 by Jonni on November 6, 2008 - 11:07 pm

    I love your freckles Kirsten. You are not only beautiful on the outside but also on the inside. Sounds like you guys had a great night.

    Hugs,
    Jonni

Leave a Reply

