Movember and other stuff

 Movember - Sponsor Me

Yes you read that right folks…Movember is a month that focuses on raising donations for Prostate Cancer through…what else…growing a “Mo” (or moustache, for those of you who don’t remember the 70’s, not that I do, hehe, but I wish I did!). And while I think this is a fabulous reason to grow one it might take me  more than a month to get a really good one going so my husband will pick up the slack…on November 1st he shaved everything so he would have a smooth face to start with…it’s been ten days and here is what we have so far.

Movember

If you want to help the moustache grow faster and haven’t yet made your yearly contribution to your favorite charity consider donating $5 to his fund by clicking here.

In Coen land:

– He has started calming down on his own during his tantrums, which is HUGE for us. Usually what happens during one of these ordeals is that he starts jumping up and down and screaming for whatever reason and we do the best we can to acknowledge his feelings…usually I holds his hands while he goes on and on saying “I know your really upset, Coen…blah blah blah” So the other day as we were doing this he stopped for a minute to take a breath and I jumped in there with my “oh Coen!!!! Look you calmed down all by yourself!!! What a big boy you are!!” and on and on. He kind of looked at me funny, like “uh…I had to breath at some point, Mom” but then he was like “yeah, I did calm down…I’m a big boy!” And since then when he starts to throw a tantrum he takes a few deep breath and says proudly “look! I did it!” Well, most of the time, at least!

– We are going through some weird sleep issues…Coen has always been pretty easy to put to bed…it was the constant waking that was the problem for the first year and a half. Now he won’t go to bed and even
after he finally falls asleep he wakes up throughout the night. This is slowly driving Dave and I crazy. Especially after getting a pretty solid year of him sleeping through the night our bodies are not used to this
anymore. I hope it resolves soon…any advice from you Mom’s out there? Please?!!

Of course, he remains as cute as ever…sigh…while I am sporting some serious bags under my eyes (thank you photoshop!).

055/365

,

  1. #1 by Jill on November 10, 2008 - 10:34 pm

    Go Mo!

    I wish I had advice on the sleeping issues. Derick’s going though it too…..we are having to leave the door open for him after stories, and I know it’s making it even harder for him to get to sleep. It’s 9:30 and I bet if I opened the door to the computer room, he’d pop his head up and tell me not to shut his door!! I’m sending good sleep vibes to you and your family!

  2. #2 by Wanda on November 10, 2008 - 10:51 pm

    Your men are very handsome…at least the upper lip and chin of the big one are. I won’t be growing a mustache either, I hope. I just spent a lot of money to have mine lasered off!

  3. #3 by renee @ FIMBY on November 11, 2008 - 6:31 am

    Wish I had some helpful advice on the sleep issues. We just did whatever we could to get through those sleep deprived years. We would try strategies (I don’t remember any now – those years permanently damaged my brain *smile*) and sometimes they worked. And other times our children just outgrew whatever it is they were struggling with.

    Our 9 year old seems to be outgrowing her latest sleep issue – sleep walking. Our neighbors heard her OUTSIDE one night trying to get back in. Their bedroom window faces our driveway and they heard her crying. She slept walked right out of the house. She woke up outside and was ringing the doorbell but we didn’t hear it. So we awoke to a phone call at 1am from our neighbors saying our daughter was at their house. THANK GOD they are good neighbors. That experience seriously freaked me out, you have no idea how terrible I felt. We put bolts on the doors so C. can’t unlock it in her sleep.

    All that to say, no advice but be thankful your babe is safe and sound in your house!

  4. #4 by gkgirl on November 11, 2008 - 8:53 am

    i wish i had some words of wisdom
    for you
    on the sleeping front
    but being the mom
    who once actually
    got in the crib
    with her son
    out of desperation
    and fell asleep
    and only woke up
    when her son
    stood over her
    saying
    “det out mom…det out now…
    no woom…”

    heh.

    {there are some stories
    you wonder if you should share or not…
    heh.}

  5. #5 by killlashandra on November 11, 2008 - 1:49 pm

    Considering my man sports a mustache year round, I’d be appalled if he shaved it. LOL

    Your tantrum advice worked great. We did something similar with W.W. When he starts throwing a tantrum we tell him he can go to his room and when he stops crying he can come back. He runs off made and less than 5 minutes later he returns sniffing up those tears and says Look Momma I stopped crying, I happy now. It’s too cute.

    Now the sleeping thing, I don’t know what to say. W.W. went through a period of getting up in the middle of the night and as he sleeps on a twin I would just lay down with him for a few minutes and then leave. Of course, I did myself in because now I still have to do that at bedtime. *smack forehead* However, it does seem to work and I don’t have to stay the whole night.

  6. #6 by Jonni on November 15, 2008 - 6:50 pm

    YAY Dave, that is an awesome mustache and so good of him to do this. I hear you on the 2 year old stuff. Geez, we are going nuts around here too. Sofia is so dang headstrong all of a sudden. She also has stopped sleeping through the night like she used to. You make me feel better that we are not the only ones going through this. Although I am sorry that you are having to go through this too. It’s tough, but soon they will be all grown up and will miss them being 2, even the hysterics (well that’s what people say). 🙂

    Hugs,
    Jonni

  7. #7 by Jonni on November 15, 2008 - 6:51 pm

    Oops, I meant moustache. Sorry for the bad spelling.

Leave a Reply

