Dreams…

I feel like I need to find my voice…my style in photography. If you take a look at my Flickr stream you will see a bunch of different looks…a few people have even commented that it looks like different photographers could be involved because of the stark contrast in styles. I want to find a style that is my own, that people would recognize as mine…but I suppose since I am still so new to this it will take a little more practice and a lot more shooting before I develop and age into a particular style. Here are a couple from the last two days…I’m thinking of doing sort of a dream-scape series over the next week or two…what do you think??

 058/365

059/365

Ultimately, though, it’s really not my style…dreamy…but I like a little more edge to my photos…I guess I better keep working!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Kirsten Geyer on November 12, 2008 - 9:53 pm

    Do you think I could have said the word “style” a few more times!! hehehe! I never said I was a brilliant writer!

  2. #2 by Christine on November 12, 2008 - 11:21 pm

    Thanks for commenting on my blog! I appreciate the encouragement. I secretly admire all of you who do the 365 project as self-portraits. I wish I had the skill and confidence for that. Your photos are amazing! I can only hope to get anywhere near as good! Practice, practice, practice!

  3. #3 by Wanda on November 12, 2008 - 11:35 pm

    I know what you mean about finding your style. It seems that great artists go through periods where their style evolves, so even if you find one, it won’t be permanent. AND, I love it that you have so many different looks. As a musician, I got to the point where it seemed that everything I did sounded the same. BoooRing! So, live it up!

    (And thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting the other day. I appreciate it.)

  4. #4 by marLou on November 13, 2008 - 5:38 am

    I have been stalking your journal for awhile now and have been a big fan. You are truly inspirational. Luv all your images and can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

  5. #5 by jody on November 13, 2008 - 6:09 am

    Well cheeky girl I think you’re on a great path to finding your way. I love the things you come up with!

    So when you figure yourself out..would you mind figuring Me out? LOL.

  6. #6 by kristy on November 13, 2008 - 7:46 am

    I completely agree… I look at my flickr and its a hodge podge. I don’t know if it the photos or the post processing that I can’t find my style of . Loving your photostream.

  7. #7 by Kara Hicks on November 13, 2008 - 9:11 am

    Thank you so much for your kind comment on my blog post about my Grandparents 60 years of marriage shoot! You are too sweet! I really appreciate it! I find that the comments that I receive from other photographers on my blog serves as such an important encouragement to me, as I get a little overwhelmed and frankly, a bit scared about this whole business. 🙂 Thank you for your encouragement!!!
    Personally, I LOVE your style! 🙂 I totally get the “search” to find what makes you different from others and what makes your photos “you”, as I too am going through the same!
    I don’t think there is anything wrong with exploring many different styles, as eventually, you will start to find what you enjoy the most the more you shoot.
    It reminds me of something my aunt once told me. I was discouraged about my lack of ability to decorate my home. I got so worried about making sure that everything “matched” and that I “followed all the rules” that this worry ended up paralyzing me to do nothing! She told me, “All you have to do is pick things that you LOVE, and they WILL match becuase YOU love them!” I think this can apply to photography. If you love what your outcome is, it WILL be YOU! 🙂
    I hope that I can be an encouragement to you, as you have been to me!
    Blessings,
    Kara Hicks

  8. #8 by Desiree on November 13, 2008 - 9:20 am

    Those are some amazing photographs!! Very nicely done! Can’t wait to see what else you do.

    Thanks for stopping by to comment on my WW photo post.

    Ciao

  9. #9 by leaca on November 13, 2008 - 12:16 pm

    love both of these.

  10. #10 by Christina on November 13, 2008 - 12:51 pm

    Personally, I love that you can adapt to so many styles and do them all WELL. But I know what you mean…I too am struggling to figure out what sets my stuff apart from anyone elses.

  11. #11 by gkgirl on November 13, 2008 - 2:57 pm

    i also relate to this feeling,
    this searching for what my signature style
    will ultimately be…

    and i like what you have done with
    these photos…
    like the dreaminess…
    :O)

  12. #12 by killlashandra on November 13, 2008 - 3:51 pm

    hehehehe I like what you did with the airplane picture. I coated mine in butterflies. 😉

    Style, sometimes I think other people are too hooked on making sure they can be identified by others by their “style.” I love your photography, and the fact it looks like a different person took some of your pictures I would take as a compliment. Everyone’s “style” is unique, just like you are. Don’t sweat it. 😉

  13. #13 by Jonni on November 15, 2008 - 6:53 pm

    Oh Kirsten, these are great. I love all the different photos you take. They all look great. Heck, who need a set style when all the photos you take look so great?

    Hugs,
    Jonni

  14. #14 by Lish on November 17, 2008 - 11:46 pm

    Welcome to the artist’s dilemma: finding a signature style! What I’ve come to realize through wrestling with this one myself and talking to other artists about it is you have to forget it. Forget finding a style– the style is you and everything you do when you’re not thinking about how you do it. It’s like a fingerprint or a signature.
    Be careful with this one, because I’ve noticed myself that the moment I start getting preoccupied with what my “style” is and what it should be is the moment my work starts to become stale and a bit of a lie.
    Maybe style can only be seen in hindsight or by someone else. All you can do is keep following your muse completely oblivious to every one else, like a child. And don’t worry, I’ve seen a distinct style in your work all along! Keep having fun, because I’m really enjoying checking in on what new photos you’ve taken! 🙂

Leave a Reply

