Coenisms

Coen has entered the stage of exploding vocabulary…I thought I’d share some of the funny things he’s been saying recently…

  • While driving in the car the other day he started to sing the ABCs…I thought I’d join in but when I did he said to me “Mom! That’s MY song! Get your own song!”
  • When Coen wakes up from his nap I hear him call out “Mom!!! I’m in HERE!!” As if I’d misplaced him or something.
  • In the last month Coen has used the phrase “That’s what I used to do when I was a little girl”.  I’m not sure what he is referencing when he says that…I just keep replying, “Coen, you have always been a boy!”
  • He started copying the parenting phrases that we use…the other day he said to me “Mom, I put that there for a reason.”
  • “Crazyness!” is one of his favorite words.
  • We have been working on getting Coen to calm down by himself during tantrums…and now throughout the whole tantrum he’ll say, “It’s HARD to calm down, Mommy, it’s HARD!”
  • Coen loves to play pretend…the other day he was pretending to put me to bed and he said “have good dreams mommy, dream about ice-cream”
  • If Coen wakes up at night because he hears something loud, he always blames Daddy. “Tell him to be more careful Mommy” he’ll say.

I love love love this stage. It is so much fun. I can’t wait until Coen’s Auntie Mandi comes to visit this Sunday so she can be a part of it all! He’s pretty excited about it too.

Here he is playing in the snow…he likes to go out in it, but doesn’t last very long before he wants to go inside for some Cocoa!
Snow baby

  1. #1 by Mandi on December 20, 2008 - 4:16 am

    SO funny, just like his mama! Looking forward to seeing you all soon (we leave here in less than 24 hours)! And maybe we can add a few choice German phrases to Coen’s rapidly expanding vocabulary… 😉

  2. #2 by renee @ FIMBY on December 20, 2008 - 7:35 am

    lol! I LOVE it! I love the funny things kid’s say. I love that dream about ice-cream! That must be what counts as a good kid dream, sounds like a good adult dream to me too!

    Last week my six year came up with this one “this is problematic”. I wrote that one down.

  3. #3 by Christina on December 20, 2008 - 7:55 am

    Awww, he is such a doll! This age really is SO FUN, isn’t it? N says the same thing about HER song, I can’t sing with her. She also talks about when she used to be a boy. huh? I love the bit about it being HARD to calm down.

  4. #4 by Lee-Ann on December 20, 2008 - 8:10 am

    I really enjoy your photography and hearing about the joy you find in mothering!

  5. #5 by Wanda on December 20, 2008 - 12:01 pm

    At least he has his priorities straight!

  6. #6 by Jamie on December 20, 2008 - 12:45 pm

    “when I was a little girl” heeheehee! That’s hilarious.

  7. #7 by HLiza on December 20, 2008 - 3:23 pm

    Oh he is so fun to have around! So, be careful mummy..he’ll be absorbing what you said. Merry Christmas!

  8. #8 by Jonni on December 29, 2008 - 11:00 pm

    Love the “Coenisms”. I am sitting here shaking my head in agreement. 2 year olds are so funny aren’t they? At least Coen tells you when he is up, Sofia starts crying the minute she wakes up now and it drives me bonkers. It’s her new thing (lol).

    Hugs,
    Jonni

  1. Emerald City | No Apathy Allowed

Leave a Reply

