A new me

Below you will find the last photo of the 365 project. That’s right, I decided to end this series on my 100th shot. I have learned so much doing this project and have been hemming and hawing about it internally for a little while.

Here’s the thing…

a) Somethings gotta give…I only have a very limited amount of time to do my creative endeavors each day…and this project has been taking up ALL of that time. There have been days that I have skipped having dinner with my family, just so I can get it done and have a little time left over to blog or (shock!) just veg in front of the tube.

b) I am still really new to photography…and the other day after my sister asked me to take some photos of her and her boyfriend for their xmas gift I actually thought to myself “ack! I don’t know how to take photos of other people!” I worry that is somehow scewing my vision…that if I continue to only work on selfies, that it will shape me in a way that I won’t be able to change.

c) I have a book full of self portrait ideas…and plan to still do them occaisionally…maybe even more than occaisionally…but when I think that in order to finish the project I will have to do two hundred and sixty five more!!! It’s just too much…even after 100, which I think is a pretty good number of consecutive self portraits!

So that’s the end! I feel a certain amount of sadness about it…but then I say to myself, “Self…this isn’t the end, just the begining of something new.” And then I’m just so excited for the new chapter. So here it goes…my last and my first. Thanks you all for continuing to follow my journey!

100/100 - All done!

Untitled

,

  1. #1 by Dad on December 23, 2008 - 11:32 pm

    You go girl !!!
    I enjoyed the ride and look forward to the next chapter of your endeavor.

  2. #2 by Wanda on December 23, 2008 - 11:47 pm

    Love the shot. Who says that the project has to be completed in a year? (heh heh heh)

    Happy Christmas!

  3. #3 by Amber on December 23, 2008 - 11:55 pm

    Sad to see it end.
    Thanks for sharing 100 amazing and inspiring selfies.

    Happy Holidays!
    I hope to meet your little family next time I’m in town.

    Amber

  4. #4 by Sandy (aka Mom) on December 23, 2008 - 11:58 pm

    This is just you evolving. Taking time to look at yourself was an excellent way to begin your journey into photography. Now you get to look at the rest of the world around you and put your special touch to it. I think you will see that all your pictures will be a self-portraits, a reflection of yourself. Can’t wait to see all the amazing images you have to reveal. Very happy you have a way to express your creativity. Love you so much, Mom

  5. #5 by Dave on December 24, 2008 - 12:15 am

    You go babe…sweety… love-o-my life. The portraits have been amazing. It’ll be awesome to see what’s next.

  6. #6 by HLiza on December 24, 2008 - 6:57 am

    You certainly didn’t look like you’re unprofessional with those photos! I was constantly amazed by your self-portraits..even though you only did 100..they’re all wonderful.

    I like what you said..this is just a beginning.

  7. #7 by marLou on December 24, 2008 - 8:54 am

    Kirsten-Congrats on your new beginnings! You are an inspiration to me (who is just some stranger who is new to photograpy and stalking your blog with good intentions). Luv what you have done and hopefully you will keep up your blog. In my book, you’ve accomplished your 365 mission. Can’t wait to see more of whatever you come up with.

  8. #8 by Jamie on December 24, 2008 - 11:57 am

    I’ve been enjoying your self portraits but I’m so excited you made this decision. I can’t wait to see what else you can do – especially now that you have a new camera to break in! Congrats on 100 beautiful selfies!

  9. #9 by renee @ FIMBY on December 24, 2008 - 3:54 pm

    Wow, they keep getting better and better. I Love that last selfie but I can’t wait to see your photography grow and expand.

  10. #10 by Jody on December 25, 2008 - 10:15 am

    I just Know you’ll come up with another fab idea. We lov ya cheekyone. Have a merry christmas =)

    Your flickr friend,
    Jody

  11. #11 by Christina on December 25, 2008 - 8:57 pm

    You know what? the purpose of the 365 project is to stretch you and get you thinking outside the box. and it’s done that. More power to you that you did that in 100 days. You have 100 incredible images and I will miss seeing more selfies, but I know great things are coming for you. Congrats!

    And, Merry Christmas!

  12. #12 by Jonni on December 29, 2008 - 10:54 pm

    Don’t be sad, you did an incredible job and I can’t wait to see what you do next. I understand how hard it is to have time for everything.

    Hugs,
    Jonni

  13. #13 by Kristy on January 4, 2009 - 1:54 pm

    I completely agree that its tough doing all the self-portraits, but I have so enjoyed seeing all yours and look forward to seeing the photos you take in the future — whether of yourself, or other things.

    Have a very happy 2009!!

    kristy

Leave a Reply

