Liebe/Love

My sister and her Schatz (aka love….at least according to the google translator) are in town…they came all the way from Germany for the holidays. Their request for a Christmas gift from me was a photo-shoot! They were my first subjects…and very forgiving as I bumbled through the process for the first time (and there was a lot of bumbling!! I have a new respect for portrait photographers!). I took almost 300 shots…then narrowed down to 100 or so that were in focus with at least one of them not blinking or turned away from me…and here are my favorites! Mandi and Daniel…I hope you guys like what you see! It was fun shooting with you…sorry about freezing you into icicles in the process!

This one is probably my personal favorite…even though nary a one is looking at the cam!
cropped-10_b&w

This one is just so sweet…
cropped-242_color

Can you tell I really like the “non-portraity” portraits?
cropped-279_b&w

I think I’m getting the “evil eye” in this shot for making someone sit on the floor of a public building…
cropped-173_color

Both Mandi and Daniel have these intense eyes…makes them pretty easy to photograph!
cropped-190_b&w

They tried so hard not to laugh at me, bless their souls!
cropped-126_color

They were both a lot happier when we were shooting inside…
cropped-284_color

Thanks you two for a fun adventure!

, ,

  1. #1 by Mandi on December 26, 2008 - 11:21 pm

    Wow, Kirst, these are great! We are so happy to finally have some nice shots of us. Thanks for a fun experience and the sneak peek — we can’t wait to checking out the other shots too!

  2. #2 by HLiza on December 27, 2008 - 4:01 am

    If I didn’t read what you wrote, I will think you’re a pro at this..your shots are fun and natural. I would love people taking my portraits like that..

  3. #3 by renee @ FIMBY on December 27, 2008 - 9:16 am

    just gorgeous. Love them! What a great gift. love that laughing shot second from last.

  4. #4 by Wanda on December 27, 2008 - 11:38 pm

    These are terrific. I am truly and duly impressed.

  5. #5 by Christina on December 28, 2008 - 8:36 am

    Kristen, WOW! What’s this nonsense about not knowing what you’re doing? Cuz these look pro all the way! What a gift. You rocked it, girl!

  6. #6 by Kristen on December 28, 2008 - 12:34 pm

    These look great! I think #5 (the intense eyes one) is my favorite, followed closely by the laughing shot. But they’re all fantastic. They really capture Mandi and Daniel’s personalities.

    ~ Kristen (a friend of Mandi and Daniel’s)

  7. #7 by Traci Williams on December 29, 2008 - 11:16 am

    I love these photos! Kirsten, you’re a great photographer. I’ve enjoyed checking in on your photo adventures.

  8. #8 by Jonni on December 29, 2008 - 10:52 pm

    You blew me away with the photos of Mandi and Daniel. They are so good! Just gorgeous. You are so talented. How nice that Mandi and Daniel could come for a visit. Can’t wait to see more photo shoots.

    hugs,
    Jonni

  1. Hello 2009! | No Apathy Allowed

Leave a Reply

