Staying true to yourself

Photography is probably the only thing that I have in my life that is truly mine. I am uber protective of it…really it is kind of ridiculous. It’s probably no secret that I am working on building a portfolio…and I get a lot of advice from well meaning people about what I should do…which of course tends to be what they like or what they think would bring in the big bucks. But guess what…I’m not listening!! hahahaha!!!!

When my portfolio is finished it will be full of the images that speak to me…and I could really care less if I ever make any money with my photography. I would be happy as a clam going through the rest of my life just snapping the shots that I am inspired to snap. Sure, it’d be cool (okay, amazing/awesome) if someone else liked them too and wanted to pay me to create more of them…but I need to keep this thing mine.

And hey…this guy couldn’t agree more. Check out his inspiring words.

  1. #1 by simplyblogged on February 11, 2009 - 4:09 pm

    I agree. It is spiritual, people and their art, whatever that may be, and I don’t feel one person can invade that.

  2. #2 by renee @ FIMBY on February 11, 2009 - 4:34 pm

    You won’t be getting any advice from my baby! I have none. You are one rockin’ photographer and if your portfolio is anything like your blog photos/flickr stuff you don’t need any help.

  3. #3 by Jamie on February 11, 2009 - 5:10 pm

    high-five! you’ll show em….

  4. #4 by Wanda on February 12, 2009 - 12:26 am

    You go, girl! Keeping it yours will keep you in love.

  5. #5 by beth on February 12, 2009 - 10:46 am

    I could have written what you just did here in your post….as I’m loving every moment behind my camera, too…but oh how I wish I still had littles at home to practice on !!!

  6. #6 by Christina on February 12, 2009 - 7:56 pm

    Kristen, you are wise. I tried to make photography something more than my hobby, my personal passion, my escape…and now it’s sapped me and I regret that decision. You go, girl.

  7. #7 by killlashandra on February 13, 2009 - 2:14 pm

    Sounds like you got the right idea to me. Advice freely given does not mean it ever has to be taken. Especially if you like the way you’ve been doing your own thing anyway. Your photography is wonderful. I’m sure the portfolio will be too!

Leave a Reply

