Bump and Grind – a gift for YOU!

 Okay, I’m a day late…but in my defense I thought Valentine’s Day was on Monday. 😉

I wanted to give you all a little gift to show my appreciation for your constant encouragement and sincere comments so I made you a little something I hope you’ll like!

Do you ever wish your photos had a little extra “oomph?” Do you curse at Photoshop when no one is watching? Do you just not have the time or inclination to learn how to edit your photos? Well, on this holiday that celebrates love…I thought you might like a little “action” to go along with it. So I created an action for Photoshop that combines all the things that I typically do to a photo to give it that little something something, before I really set to work on editing. I even named it “Bump and grind”…to go with the Valentine’s Day feeling!

Here are some samples of it in “action”!

Before:
Pretty cute…but a little flat.
Before2

After:
Subtle…but different.
After1

Before:
Before

After:
After
 

This action is meant to be subtle enough to use on most photos…it doesn’t add funky color casts and it gives the image just a little more dimension (at least I think so!). You can use it as-is (just hit the play button on your action menu) or you can do your dodging and burning on the layer titled “Dodge and Burn” (duh).

If you don’t know photoshop well, just skip this part…
This dodge and burn method doesn’t use the actual dodge and burn tools. Just grab a white paint brush, set to 10% and make sure you’re on the Dodge and Burn layer and paint over the parts you want lighter…it shouldn’t affect the shadows if you paint over them (well…technically speaking, anything that is darker than 50% grey).
To darken the darks (won’t affect anything lighter than 50% grey) just grab a black brush and paint over the parts you want to darken! Easy peasy!

There you have it! Again…this isn’t meant to dramatically alter your photo…just get it to looking good before you reach for all your other fancy stuff!

This action was created with Photoshop CS2 and I have no idea if it works on Photoshop elements…but if you try it and it does, I’d love to hear it! Oh and just because I am lazy…if you are wondering about how to install actions…click here!

Happy Belated Valentine’s Day!

Click HERE to unwrap your gift!

,

  1. #1 by Wanda on February 15, 2009 - 11:49 pm

    I don’t even have Photoshop yet!

  2. #2 by Gary on February 16, 2009 - 12:17 am

    Thanks for sharing your action! Can’t wait to give it a try!

  3. #3 by Gary on February 16, 2009 - 12:25 am

    I tried it! VERY NICE! Thanks for sharing!

  4. #4 by beth on February 16, 2009 - 5:35 am

    his eyes are so deep and beautiful….I swear you could fall right into them !

    and yes…..I love the softness !…that’s actually where I’m going next with my “series” on editing to show that I don’t always go overboard…..that I have enough self control to only tweak a little bit….but oh I love tweaking 🙂

    thanks for stopping by !!

  5. #5 by MGF on February 16, 2009 - 6:45 am

    Works in CS2, you are so nice to share.

    Thank you so much. I really like the gentle difference.

  6. #6 by renee @ FIMBY on February 16, 2009 - 7:04 am

    wish i could use this. alas, no ps but bump & grind – you are downright hilarious!

  7. #7 by Lee-Ann on February 16, 2009 - 9:29 am

    Oh! Thank you! I hope to learn to use ps as soon as I get the camera stuff down…may take a while!!

    Thank You!!

  8. #8 by Jamie on February 16, 2009 - 12:02 pm

    I’ve never used actions before. I just do all my editing the long slow manual way. Hmm. I may have to finally give this a try. Actions seem to be “all the rage” these days. Thanks for sharing!

  9. #9 by Christina on February 16, 2009 - 12:37 pm

    Well, aren’t you sweet! A little Valentines action – hehe! I love how understated this is. Your SOOC images are darn good, girl!

  10. #10 by simplyblogged on February 16, 2009 - 3:34 pm

    beautiful. good for you. actions are so much fun.

  11. #11 by killlashandra on February 17, 2009 - 7:51 am

    You’re too sweet. Thank you for the action. I like the subtle affects it makes and your pictures are beautiful. Gotta love those blue eyes, you make them pop just right. Nowadays I’d have to that W.W.’s eyes are turning gray. I find it odd how certain eyes change color and never seem to be the same.

  12. #12 by free adobe photoshop action on February 17, 2009 - 5:08 pm

    nice information

  13. #13 by Kelly on February 18, 2009 - 9:34 pm

    Thanks for the gift! I love it. It is really a great action.

  14. #14 by Jonni on March 2, 2009 - 7:52 pm

    What fun! Thanks hun. I LOVE actions. You are so good to have made this. I want to creat actions but always get sidetracked. This is absolutely lovely and thanks for sharing, plus I could always use a little more bump and grind in my life (lol).

    Hugs,
    Jonni

Leave a Reply

