Non-portraits

I love taking pictures of people. It’s so much easier and more interesting for me. But I also think that it’s a good exercise to practice taking photos of non-people (yup, I’m just going to lump it all together into one category).

A couple of months ago I took myself on a photo walk downtown. It was FREEZING and I didn’t last for very long before heading into a coffee shop for a little warm up. But I did snap a few pictures and was reminded how much more thoughtful you have to be about the composition and mood you want to capture when you’re taking a non-portrait. Not that you don’t have to think about those things for portraits…but if you don’t get it just right in a still or landscape…well then you just have a picture of a meaningless object…and it is starkly apparent.

Here’s one from that walk…(the dude you seen in the background was totally showing off for the camera, so I guess it’s not technically a non-portrait…

Alone

And here’s one from this afternoon…the sun was out and Coen was playing happily in the sandbox, aaaahhhh.

Deadhead

This Saturday, Jamie and I are going to a Flickr meetup at a vintage drug store (they are closing down the shop for 3 hours just for us to play around with our cameras!) and I am SUPER excited about it. Weeee for learning new things and meeting new people!

  1. #1 by killlashandra on February 19, 2009 - 12:04 pm

    The flickr meet up sounds like fun. What a neat idea. Your portrait shows are awesome I have to agree. Although the your winter flower heads are lovely too in a different sense. They look kind of melodramatic hanging there.

  2. #2 by renee @ FIMBY on February 19, 2009 - 2:26 pm

    I love those puffy things. I take a lot photos of those.

    I like the element of action in that first photo that the cyclist provides. He may have been showing off but it’s a good shot.

    The sand box – you’re kidding me. We just got another dump of snow. And our backyard is a good 8 inches under hardpacked snow. sigh.

  3. #3 by Jamie on February 19, 2009 - 3:40 pm

    Non-people pictures are hard for me too. You really have to get it right for it to not look boring.

    I think the cyclist in that first picture really pulls the whole thing together. And the colors and composition of that second one are just lovely. Nice job.

    I have a feeling Saturday is going to be awesome. So looking forward to it!

  4. #4 by Wanda on February 20, 2009 - 1:30 am

    Not only do I love your photos, you write really well. This is a great post. Have fun at the shoot.

  5. #5 by Christina on February 21, 2009 - 6:56 am

    Wish I could be there today with you for the drug store shoot! How awesome. Non-people pictures challenge me too – but the PaD project is helping.

  6. #6 by Jonni on March 2, 2009 - 7:49 pm

    I love all the photos you take. People ones, non-people ones. You have an amazing gift.

    Love the bench one with the biker in the background. I think he makes it even more interesting.

    Hugs,
    Jonni

Leave a Reply

