Getting Crafty

Something very strange happens to me when I am pregnant. I get crafty. I normally wouldn’t consider myself crafty…artistic, yes…but crafty, nope. But all of a sudden I find myself wanting to make things…sewing, knitting, even baking. It probably has something to do with the “nesting” instinct, I suppose.

Dave and Coen are on a little trip to visit his family in Colorado and since somebody has to make some money around here 😉 , I get to stay home and work…boo! But it does have it’s advantages…one being I can pull out all the fabric and yarn that I’ve been hording away in the corner of my closet for the last 6 months and make stuff!

My first attempt at a baby quilt…for a coworker of mine, turned out pretty cool! And I only had to try twice!

_DSC2263 copy

_DSC2271 copy

I’ve got a few little projects to work on up my sleeve for the rest of the week…in between reading and shopping and all around relaxing by myself. I miss my boys but it sure is nice to have a few days alone after 3+ years of having a constant side-kick!

Oh and if you are feeling a little crafty yourself…check out some of these links!

Angry Chicken
Craftzine
Design is Mine

SouleMama

  1. #1 by Open Ended Blog on August 2, 2009 - 7:55 am

    The color coordination you got on the quilt looks very cool. I like it!

  2. #2 by Mandi on August 2, 2009 - 9:43 am

    Wishing you a great week to yourself!

    P.S. The grin on Coen’s face with his little cousin in the airport in Denver is priceless! (Mom forwarded me the pics).

  3. #3 by renee @ FIMBY on August 4, 2009 - 6:55 pm

    Cool. But doesn’t soule mama leave you feeling terribly inadequate? Maybe that’s just my own insecurities!

  4. #4 by dave on August 14, 2009 - 9:38 pm

    wow< and I didn't even get to see it… awesome

  5. #5 by killlashandra on August 28, 2009 - 6:04 am

    Your quilt looks great! Although the taggy blanket I keep meaning to make for E.C. totally languishes on the sewing table. Some day I keep telling myself. LOL

    And yep, easy bake ovens are totally the best!

Leave a Reply

