Still crafting…

…which means, yes, I’m still pregnant. November 16th is my official due date, but I was SURE that I would have had this baby by now. This was my first week of maternity leave…and I have to say that it is so much easier to be home at this point! Coen has loved having me home to snuggle with in the mornings and I have been enjoying not getting up at 6am and rush-rush-rushing around everywhere like I usually do. Next week Dave starts the second part of his furlough…and then he gets an additional 4 weeks of paternity leave! So he’ll be home with us a total of 8 weeks, which is so awesome, I can’t even explain it. When Coen was born he only took 2 weeks off, and by the end of it I was doing my best to convince him that he should just quit his job and stay home with me, LOL! Of course money will be tight…but at least all this crafting energy is turning into some good gifts for the holidays!

I am furiously trying to tempt the labor fates by starting a multitude of baby projects in the hopes that I will never be able to finish them, but alas…
I have had to move onto knitting projects since my ability to lean over fabric on the floor is pretty much gone at this point. Here are some snapshots of some of my handiwork (yes, I realize I am a bit out of control …)

This hat is made with the softest bamboo and alpaca yarn…so cozy for the little babe!
_DSC2547

And of course I had to make a little hat for Coen too…
_DSC2554

A cashmere teddy bear…this was what Coen decide he’d bring for his show and tell day at school (well, until he changed his mind to the monster toy that shoots, lol) it made me so proud!
_DSC2542

This little floor quilt was actually supposed to be just something to practice freehand quilting on…but I like how it turned out! I have a full size quilt in the works…but it will have to wait until this baby is born to be finished…it’s driving me crazy that I can’t go any further with it.
_DSC2557

Coen has been the little crafter himself lately…we get these cool toddler modeling kits from the craft store that come with paint, glue, a brush…all for $1!!! So far we’ve done a cool sail boat and this race car. They are perfect for a three year old…simple, big enough for little hands and enough little parts to keep them busy! He loves them…I stocked up the other day for when the baby arrives…only a $1!!!
_DSC2552

And of course my most important project of all…keeping this baby healthy! My gestational diabetes has stayed in check and the midwife says he’s looking pretty petite…so no 19 pound baby for me! He is so much less active than Coen was when I was pregnant with him…so I have been trying to not worry myself silly. It’ll be interesting to see if he is this quiet after he is born (I have to admit that would be a nice change, LOL!)
_DSC2532

  1. #1 by beth on November 11, 2009 - 7:03 pm

    how great that you can still see your feet !!!

    and those baby hats….too precious !

  2. #2 by Mandi on November 11, 2009 - 11:51 pm

    The teddy bear is amazing — can’t believe you made that by hand! Hope you have a comfortable few days until the baby decides to make his appearance. Love, M

  3. #3 by Lee-Ann on November 12, 2009 - 7:55 am

    YEA!! Hope the last few weeks are filled with joy for you! Not only are you a photographer, but also a crafter – sweet hats 🙂

  4. #4 by Wanda on November 12, 2009 - 8:30 am

    You are amazing. I love all of these–especially the bear.

  5. #5 by Amber on November 12, 2009 - 9:55 am

    I remember while reading your last post that Dave was going to be home during this time (darn furloughs.) Sounds like it’ll be good timing to help out with all the excitement of the new addition. Any names picked out yet?

  6. #6 by Jill on November 12, 2009 - 3:22 pm

    I’ve been dying to hear an update from you. I’m thinking of you lots and sending tons of good labor dust your way! I can’t wait to hear the good news about your newest little man. I love all the projects, it’s such a great time of year to be so crafty! Hang in there, girl….so close now. Big Hugs!

  7. #7 by renee @ FIMBY on November 12, 2009 - 4:41 pm

    Oh… we ohhed and ahhed as we read this post. Brienne especially loves the teddy bear. Isn’t family crafting so much fun? Amazing work you’ve done on that quilt. I can’t wait to see this little babe yet to be born.

  8. #8 by Jamie on November 14, 2009 - 9:17 am

    Eeeek! Only a couple more days!! I’m sooo excited for you…and Dave…and Cohen. The crafts are awesome. Fabulous job my dear. I’ve been threatening to knit. I have books and yarn and needles but haven’t gotten much farther then that. Good luck!!

  9. #9 by killlashandra on November 17, 2009 - 1:38 pm

    Good to see that you’re still crafting away. Boy I wish I had some skill with knitting, but nope certainly not to be. Although Coen looks super cute in that hat. 🙂 E.C. was 37 weeks on the nose due to my preeclampsia, so making it to your due date I think is exciting. Of course, for all I know you could be off to the hospital right now. 😉

  10. #10 by Susan on November 30, 2009 - 11:53 am

    I love all the homemade stuff. It definitely shows the love and warmth….

Leave a Reply

