Welcome Blake!

_DSC2618

_DSC2663
**Photos by Dave**

Our sweet boy, Blake David, entered the world on 11/18/09! I can’t believe it has already been a week since his birth! We have been snuggled up at home, enjoying having a baby to love on. I had a wonderful birth and was lucky enough to get the drug-free birth that I wanted. It was a CRAZY and SHORT (under 3 hours!) experience and so different from my very long and difficult (ie looooong) birth with Coen. Here is Blake’s birth story!

The afternoon of the 18th I was getting pretty uncomfortable. I kept telling Dave that I though the baby was in a weird position and he was kicking me like a crazy boy. I was working on finishing up a little baby sweater and was just about at the end of it. At about 8pm Dave asked if I thought they were contractions…but I was not convinced because it was more of a constant pain…not a coming and going kind of pain. During one of the pains I decided to feel if my tummy was hard or not (you’d think, being a second time mom, I’d know what a contraction felt like, LOL) and lo and behold…it was a contraction. Still unconvinced I was in real labor, since my tummy was pretty hard anyway (it was stuffed with a full term baby after all) Dave decided to start trying to time the contractions for me. Mind you I was on my very last row of knitting this sweater and I think I told him that I couldn’t be bothered, when he kept asking if I was having a contraction or not. I told him that I would get more serious when I was done with the sweater, LOL.
So Dave went to put Coen to bed and I started timing the contraction more seriously…they were about 5 minutes apart! I went about cleaning the house in preparation to leave for the hospital (still in denial) and the contraction kept getting stronger and stronger…about 45mins later I was SURE that we had to get our booties moving out the door. We got Coen ready (he was SOOOO excited to get to go to Grandma’s and Grandpa’s instead of to bed) and at about 9:20 out the door we went! Unfortunately we were about two minutes into the trip and the gas light came on…I forgot to fill up the tank earlier that day. If anyone has ever had a baby before they probably would agree with me that one of the most difficult positions to be in when you’re having full fledged contraction is sitting in the car. So it was slightly annoying that on top of it we had to stop for gas! I remember saying a bunch of times…just put enough in to get us there! Coen was happily singing songs in the back seat and trying to get me to play a game with him…I was just trying to keep breathing and not freak him out!

We dropped Coen off and got to the hospital at about 10pm (mind you this was only about 2 hours after I half-heartedly thought I MIGHT be in labor). By this time the contractions were UNBELIEVABLE and I was starting to feel a bit of pressure with them. With Coen’s 24+ hour birth as my only experience I was starting to not believe that I would not be able to go very long without any kind of pain relief. We got checked into the hospital and at this point I was shaking so badly from the pain and contractions were about 2.5 minutes apart. The midwife came in and she checked my cervix to see how dilated I was (I was mentally preparing myself to be at about 6cm or so) and she said “Well no wonder your in so much pain…you going to have a baby in a few minutes! I was at 9cm! Bag of waters was still intact! So off I went to the birthing bed…the midwife was guiding me through little pushes while standing at the side of the bed…then a few minutes later I was pushing full force! There is no way to describe the feeling of giving birth…intense, and totally crazy! All of a sudden I see Dave gloving up…and the midwife instructing him on what he should be doing TO DELIVER THE BABY! I could really have cared less what was going on down there at that point to be honest! I was just trying to concentrated on pushing that baby out! Dave got the incredible experience of being able to really deliver his own baby…which was awesome…not just catching, but EVERYTHING…I’ll just leave it at that, LOL! And at 10:57pm, less than 3 hours from when I thought I **could** be in labor…Blake was born! I think my first words were “oh he’s so beautiful!”…with the intensity of the pain I think I kind of forgot that I was going to get a baby out of the whole deal! I was instantly in love! All in all I am SO happy that it was a fast and furious birth…because I’m pretty sure that I would never have been able to last as long as I did with Coen without any meds…and I really wanted to have a natural birth. So thanks Blakey!

So far Blake has been an “easy” baby and only cries when he is hungry. He is nursing GREAT in fact maybe a little too well as he gained about 9oz between his hospital discharge on Friday and his first doctor visit on Monday! I had forgotten how painful it is when your milk “comes in” though! Ouch! I think since Blake had been nursing pretty much non-stop since he was born that my body was pretty convinced that I had given birth to 5 babies…I was FULL of milk.

It’s nice to live in a city that is so natural parenting oriented. The staff at the hospital was GREAT…they do a little happy dance when you say you won’t be circumcizing…suggest co-sleeping with your babe…or delay any unnecessary interventions. So if you ever are having a baby in Seattle…you’ll have to look up Group Health Midwives!

Coen has been a great big brother. He is CONSTANTLY giving kisses and pats to Blake…I can’t wait to watch their interactions together as they grow. Although our bed is getting a little small with all of us trying to stake our own space! It is so sweet to wake up and have little Blake nursing on one side and Coen snuggled up with Daddy on the other. My boys! Sigh!

Phew! That was probably the long post I have ever written!

I hope everyone has a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  1. #1 by Open Ended Blog on November 26, 2009 - 12:18 pm

    Congratulations! Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. #2 by Jill on November 26, 2009 - 2:51 pm

    Congratulations Kirsten, Dave, and Coen!!! Blake is an adorable name and he’s so very sweet in the photos. I can’t believe your fast birth, it sounds VERY similar to my sister’s second. Yay!!! I can’t wait to meet him. Have a very blessed thanksgiving with your new little family. Much love!!!

  3. #3 by Wanda on November 26, 2009 - 3:55 pm

    Oh, congratulations! So glad it was an easy birth and he is an easy baby. Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. #4 by beth on November 26, 2009 - 6:27 pm

    congratulations…there is nothing better than a new baby….

  5. #5 by renee @ FIMBY on November 27, 2009 - 5:39 am

    I smiled the moment I saw those first two photos and thought “the baby finally arrived!” Babies can never nurse too well, that’s a real blessing – you milk machine (tee, hee).

    So glad you had the birth you wanted. I had 3 births that went as I had hoped and dreamed (very painful but med free) and I know the satisfaction that comes from that feeling.

    Love the “picture” of you cuddling in bed with your 3 boys. Ah…

    Take care of yourselves so you recover well. Sounds like you’ll do well with Dave home for awhile.

  6. #6 by Jamie on November 28, 2009 - 6:11 pm

    YAAAY!! I’m so happy for all of you! Blake is sooooo cute and I can totally see Coen in him. High-five on the awesome labor job!! Hahaha… Please let me know when I can photograph your newly extended family 😉

  7. #7 by Lish on November 28, 2009 - 6:37 pm

    I’m so happy for you that it all went so well– intense but fast! It’s fun to read about the whole adventure, although it might be redundant when we get the girls together to see him. I just couldn’t wait! I’m back from Colorado, so give me a call when you feel up for some visitors and I’ll wrangle the peeps! 😉 Congratulations, lil’ momma!

  8. #8 by Christina on November 28, 2009 - 10:12 pm

    Congrats Kristen, and welcome to the world Blake! He is a gorgeous little man and I’m so thrilled for all of you. What an incredible birth story – similar to my sister with her FIRST, actually!

  9. #9 by killlashandra on November 30, 2009 - 10:33 am

    Yeah! Congratulations! That’s excellent you got the birth you wanted. And I totally agree with you that contractions sitting up in a vehicle are totally the worst! He’s beautiful. 🙂 I’m so looking forward to pictures of the 2 boys together.

  10. #10 by Kristen on November 30, 2009 - 8:21 pm

    Congratulations from a friend of Mandi’s! I love your birth story. And he’s absolutely precious. Great work Mama!

  11. #11 by Amber on December 3, 2009 - 12:02 pm

    Adorable baby! Your birth story is inspirational Kirsten. I found it hilarious that you had to finish that sweater. Lots of love to you and your boys.

  12. #12 by Jonni on December 6, 2009 - 8:14 pm

    Congrats sweetie! Blake is adorable, just like his brother. Sorry it has been so long since I have been by to say hi. Just been super busy since we came home from China with Samantha in October. Hope you feel better with each passing day and thanks for sharing the lovely pictures of your lovely little sweetie. He is so adorable! 🙂

    Hugs,
    Jonni

Leave a Reply

