Hibernation Mode

It’s a strange thing when you have a baby and things SLOW DOWN. You wake up and all of a sudden it’s already 1pm and nobody has had a shower or brushed their teeth or even really had a decent meal but somehow you’ve been busy since 7am!

We have definitely been in hibernation mode…and I’ve been taking advantage of Dave being home by sleeping whenever I can and then nursing Blake pretty much takes up the rest of the time! He goes back to work next week, for just that week before taking another 4 weeks off for his parental leave, so Coen and Blake and I get to have a little test run to see how our routine will change once Daddy is back to work full-time!

Blake is doing great, and still seems to be pretty chill, yay! I am loving the newborn stage this time around and can actually enjoy him being so tiny and cuddly. We are sleeping pretty well, although Blake does seem to have his day/nights mixed up a bit as his longest stretch of sleep is usually mid afternoon. He wants to be up at about 2am for a solid 2 hours, but he’ll usually just spend that time laying next to me staring at the pictures on the wall and me, which is pretty sweet too. Dave and I have worked out a pretty good system for sleep, so I think we are all handling it pretty well!

I can’t believe it is almost Christmas! I had high hopes for a bunch of handmade gifts this year…but I think we’ll need to hit the stores instead for most…ah well. Next time I’ll have to start in August and not have a baby right before Thanksgiving!

I had a little photoshoot with the boys this morning!

(OH and P.S. you can now subscribe to my posts to get them delivered to you email address via the sidebar on the right side of the page!)

Welcome Blake!

Welcome Blake!

Welcome Blake!

  1. #1 by Jill on December 9, 2009 - 7:37 pm

    Kirsten, your boys are so adorable!!! I am SO glad to hear that things are going so well for you. Sleep is the BEST thing for a new mama. I just love the shot of Blake’s lil toes….you are so talented. Sending lots of love your way. I hope you have a very blessed holiday!

  2. #2 by Jamie on December 9, 2009 - 8:11 pm

    Oh honey!! These pics are soooo presh. Glad things are going well for you all. I hope you’re putting Dave to work with the camera too! I wanna see you in some next time 😉

  3. #3 by Wanda on December 9, 2009 - 10:53 pm

    Beautiful shots…beautiful family!

  4. #4 by renee @ FIMBY on December 10, 2009 - 4:38 am

    look at how much coen looks like Dave! I’ve hardly seen Dave but the resemblance in the eyes is striking.

    go easy on yourself hon. Homemade Christmas with a newborn is a little unrealistic.

    Good luck next week. You’re going to do just fine. I remember very well being terrified of Damien going back to work and my mom leaving after our babes were born, all three times. How was I possibly going to manage – nursing, meals, laundry, child-care. I did. I found my groove and learned to enjoy the flow to our days except those last 2 hours before Daddy got home from work, those were always hard.

    Ok, I ramble. Take care and Merry Christmas or whatever you celebrate.

  5. #5 by gkgirl on December 10, 2009 - 11:27 am

    ohhhhhhh…so adorable!
    congratulations on your little bundle of cuteness!

  6. #6 by noapathyallowed on December 10, 2009 - 12:57 pm

    Sweet! Can’t wait to see you all in Feb/March!

Leave a Reply

