Happy New Year!

Just a quickie post wishing you all a happy New Year!

Blake and I will be celebrating this one together, minus the other two boys since they are off playing in Cabo San Lucas with Dave’s family. We wanted to include little Blakey in the annual after Christmas tradition of skipping all the snow and bad weather and heading to the warm beaches of Mexico, but I thought dragging a newborn across the border would have been pushing it a little. 😉 Next year!

I, unfortunately, came down with a cold (second time this month!? Give a mom a break already!) the day they left and so Blake and I have been snuggled up on the couch watching TV (the whole 2 channels we get, sans cable) and keeping each other awake for most of the night hours (me with the coughing and him with the nursing). Although luckily I’m not feeling too tired since I have been able to nap freely in the afternoon!

One of my New Years resolutions is to eat less “from the box” this year. There was a time when I would shop and the food we bought was either a) plucked from the earth, or b) meat, but as time has become more precious with a little guy around, more and more of our shopping cart is being occupied with processed food and I want to change that! We signed up for an organic foods delivery service that brings us a variety of 12-15 seasonal fruits and veggies every week (right to our doorstep!) from a local organic farm and I’m going to do my best to plan our meals around that. Wish me luck…I’m not so good with the whole “thinking ahead” concept.

Of course I have to post a pic of “Blakey Blake” as we have come to call him! Such a sweet sweet baby!

DSC_3131

I can’t get over this outfit…so cute!

DSC_3150

Have a happy, healthy New Year!

  1. #1 by Open Ended Blog on January 1, 2010 - 8:15 am

    Happy New Year sweetie! I am loving that outfit too!

  2. #2 by Jamie on January 1, 2010 - 8:25 am

    He just keeps getting cuter Kirsten! Sorry you’re not feeling well. I bet the boys are having a blast in Cabo! And good luck with the farm box. We get one every two weeks and it comes with a newsletter and recipes with what to do with the things in the box. Makes it easy sometimes – and I sure don’t mind not having to go to the grocery store as often!

  3. #3 by Mandi on January 1, 2010 - 10:17 am

    Happy new year! Hope you’re feeling better soon. I’ll be interested to hear how your meal planning goes with the organic delivery — I think that’s a fantastic idea!

  4. #4 by Jill on January 2, 2010 - 9:24 pm

    Happy New Year! So sorry to hear you are sick again. But how nice that you and Blake have the house to yourself. When you are feeling up to it, I’d love to meet Blake and see you again. Let me know when it will best for you. Love the pics…those baby blues are adorable!

  5. #5 by killlashandra on January 4, 2010 - 1:54 pm

    My word he’s absolutely adorable! I’ve been so remiss with all the holidays I haven’t been to visit your site in a while. Eating less from the box I think sounds like a good resolution. I read another blog that suggested finding 3 positive things in everyday and I kind of liked that one too.

    Anyways, I hope by now you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

