I heart film

I realized that some of the people who follow this blog might still not know about my “other” blog, yet. I wanted to post a couple of pics from my film photography project to lure you over so you can bookmark it.

Why film? There is just a quality about film…the lovely soft rendering of color and skin tone…the detail that is captured in the highlights…there is just nothing that comes close to it in the digital world. I also am falling in love with the (surprisingly) few “soft” shots (focus speaking) I’ve gotten. In fact that little imperfection sometimes makes me love them even more! Both film and digitial have their place and benefits, though. I would LOVE to start integrating film into my sessions and I think that this year might be my year to start. But since many of the sessions I do include fast-moving kiddos…I still very much love my digi-cam and it’s ability to take hundreds of photos without having to change rolls!

One HUGE difference between film and digital (for you photographers out there) is that, with digital, you always expose your shot for the highlights. Digital images tend to blow out the whites far before you’ve actually exposed correctly which means that in order to get a nice clean image you have to expose for the brightest part of the image and then edit the photo in post (on your computer) to get the right balance.
In film, you expose for the shadows…and the whites are RARELY blown. Did you hear that??!! I am always amazed when I see an image from my film camera that would have been ruined with the same settings in digital. Makes such a huge difference in the image, in my opinion.

But the single best thing about film for me is that you don’t have to sit at a computer editing the photos. After you take a roll…drop it off…pick it up and THAT’s IT. I do not like editing photos one bit. 🙂

Here is a little sampling from this weeks roll…unedited (a couple of scratch marks below for evidence, ha!)

Film Friday ~ Week 4

Film Friday ~ Week 4

18040004_dip

Film Friday ~ Week 4

Film Friday ~ Week 4

A bit of a photo-cliche on the next one (right), but what can I say. 🙂
18040014_dip

  1. #1 by Molly on January 29, 2011 - 7:44 am

    Lovely. I agree, there is something about the film photos that has a dreamy, softer look.

  2. #2 by Jamie on January 30, 2011 - 8:23 am

    Ya, spending all your post-session time brightening images is lame. I do it every time. But look at your images! Juuust right. 🙂

    (I need to remind myself how to take pictures of non-people. Let’s go shoot sometime! And then head to Big Als 😉 )

Leave a Reply

