Seattle Family Photographer ~ Video

I sometimes wonder what preconceived ideas people have about what a family photography session will entail when they book me. And I often wonder if,  after the shoot is over, if they walk away thinking “did she get any good ones?” or “But we didn’t DO anything extra-ordinary”. Because my style is very follow-you-around-and-let-you-play-and-be-yourself there isn’t really that sense of “oh, we did that pose and that other pose and then we went here and she posed us there”.

It’s really hard to see the beauty in your own interactions as a family…the things that you do so automatically…leaning over to smooch your daughter or give a quick tickle just to hear her squeal with laughter. But those are the moments to I love to capture…the ones that you do when (usually) no-one is watching.

This is why I love seeing the video that Dave has shot when he shadows me at a session. For me as the photographer, it’s fun to see the moments in motion that I have caught as a still. So fleeting…just half a second, but that’s all it takes.

So I present to you Dave’s video from the last session we did. Such a lovely and authentic family. Enjoy!

  1. #1 by Jonni on February 3, 2011 - 8:47 pm

    So cute Kirsten and Dave did a great job! Love it.

    Hugs,
    Jonni

  2. #2 by Jill on February 3, 2011 - 9:13 pm

    Cute, cute, cute!!!

  3. #3 by maya on February 4, 2011 - 4:48 pm

    awww…brings tears of joy to my eyes! Thank you Kirsten and Dave for sharing and making this lovely images! Best.

Leave a Reply

