Food Photography Challenge ~ January

Recently I joined a great group of photographers who are cultivating their food styling and photography skills. The idea is that we will challenge ourselves each month with a specific assignment dealing with food photography and then share our final images on our blogs (scroll down for the link to the next photographer in our circle). SO FUN! I have already learned a ton from our Facebook group and it’s awesome to be amongst such talented and supportive photographers!

January’s challenge was “fruit on white”, no props, just one kind of fruit on a white backdrop. Sounds pretty simple but it was hard! Mainly because anything you do wrong will be SO obvious…since you are pretty much just working with light and fruit…nothing else to distract! I’ll admit I’m not really a “white background” kind of photographer…but this was a fun challenge!

So here it is!
storyboard-11

We also decided we could play a little with some props after the challenge was complete so I used my back-up fruit…
storyboard-comp-32

I am so used to photographing people that I was really laughing at the fact that I would click the shutter and then wait for a different moment, then “nope nothing has changed…that pear is still there in the same spot”, lol. But seriously, next time we do a fruit shoot, it’d better be in the Summer…kinda hard to find fresh looking fruit mid-winter!!

Head over to Jennifer Grant’s Lifestyle Photo Blog | Michigan + Beyond to see her take on the challenge! (The blog circle will go around about 14 different photographers before leading back to me).

  1. #1 by Kay Pickens on January 20, 2012 - 5:40 am

    The challenge was fun this month, wasn’t it? Love your blueberry shots too.

  2. #2 by Tiffany | Develop on January 20, 2012 - 6:12 am

    The pears are nice but I actually love your blueberry shot! Especially the one where they are messy and scattered on the white background. I tried something similar and it was a hot mess. You did a fantastic job.

  3. #3 by Tammy Bilodeau on January 20, 2012 - 6:40 am

    Very nice. I like the colour differences in your pears, same fruit, but very different colours. Your berries are nice too, I like your composition. 🙂

  4. #4 by Carey on January 20, 2012 - 7:06 am

    Pears are my favorite fruit to eat, hands down. I love how you used the pears with the varying shades of color in your shot! And I like your styling of the group as well! The blueberry shot is fabulous as well!

  5. #5 by Amanda Eller on January 20, 2012 - 7:21 am

    Oh my goodness! That blueberry shot is perfect!! Both of them are actually, in their own ways! I’m so hungry now!!

  6. #6 by Jennifer Grant on January 20, 2012 - 8:12 am

    I love your blueberries on white as well as the blueberries in the bowl 🙂 I just love how they are spilling out!

  7. #7 by Kim - Liv Life on January 20, 2012 - 9:03 am

    All the shots are wonderful, however I’m drawn to the scatter blueberries too. Just bright and beautiful! The pears are gorgeous as well, how can one resist a blushing pear???

  8. #8 by Laurie on January 20, 2012 - 9:10 am

    I love your pears.. Lve the colors and how shiny they are! And those blueberries are amazing! I’m so glad you joined us for this challenge!

  9. #9 by Stacey S on January 20, 2012 - 9:33 am

    These are fantastic shots! I love the extra shots, too.

  10. #10 by jenniferolsonimages on January 20, 2012 - 12:17 pm

    LOVE these! Hee hee you are so funny, that’s a benefit of photographing food.. it doesn’t move as much as people do! I really love the colors in your propped photo.

  11. #11 by Alli on January 20, 2012 - 1:26 pm

    I agree, food is so different than photographing people! Love the blueberries spilling out across the frame.

  12. #12 by Kat on January 20, 2012 - 2:13 pm

    Beautiful pears…and your blueberries turned out awesome. Great detail.

Leave a Reply

