Embracing the Grain

In digital photography “noise” is NOT a good thing…but in film photography it can be (but they lovely refer to it as “grain”). I often add some grain back into digital shots, just ’cause I like the gritty, toothsome feel to it. B&W coming from a digicam can sometimes be so sleek and smooth it loses some of its omph. I wanted to test out some seriously grainy film so ran a roll of Ilford 3200 through my 35mm camera a few weeks ago. These shots might be pushing my grain tolerance even for me! But they are kind of arty. Next time I think I will try it with my medium format camera…I think that might be a better combination!

ilford 3200 in 35mm

, ,

  1. #1 by Jayme F. on January 25, 2012 - 3:39 pm

    These are absolutely lovely!

  2. #2 by Toni Raper on February 19, 2012 - 12:56 pm

    Image number 8 makes my heart stop. B&W film plus a B&W striped shirt are made to be photographed together. I adore these moments. I think the MF will handle grain better, like you say these do have an arty feel because of the grain though.

  3. #3 by heidi on February 19, 2012 - 1:41 pm

    These are beautiful. Grainy? YES…but love that about them!

Leave a Reply

