Food Photography Challenge ~ February

This month’s challenge was a diptych (2 photos side by side) of a) an uncooked veggie or veggies and b) a cooked veggie dish. This challenge was much more my style so I decided to go with a moody look to match the unending dark and dreary winters that we have here in the PNW. I must say again, photographing food is HARD!! But I am learning so much and it’s fun to have a little challenge that makes me problem solve a bit.

Butternut squash and carrot soup
storyboard-14

Head over to Elaine Melko | Chicago Photographer to click through this amazing circle of photographers to see what they came up with this month!

The recipe:
In a large pot combine
one cubed/peeled butternut squash
5 sliced carrots
2 sliced leeks (pale green parts only)
and 1 tbsp butter (or olive oil if you would like a vegan dish)
cooked covered over medium heat for 10 minutes or so, stirring occasionally.
Add 4 cups reduced sodium chicken stock (or veggie stock) and boil covered for 30 minutes.
Take off heat and blend until smooth (I used an immersion blender for this, but you could just pop into blender).
You can also add a touch of cream and some nutmeg and pepper if you like, but I don’t think it needs it!
(recipe from Better Homes and Garden)

SO YUM!!!

  1. #1 by Tiffany | Develop on February 20, 2012 - 6:33 am

    The seeds were such a nice touch! Love the swirl in that soup.

  2. #2 by Kay Pickens on February 20, 2012 - 6:35 am

    That does look yummy! Love the lighting and mood of these shots. Very nice!

  3. #3 by Jill on February 20, 2012 - 8:25 am

    Oh, that looks amazing!

  4. #4 by Tammy Bilodeau on February 20, 2012 - 8:28 am

    Looks Yummy, I love your lighting I think it works great. Such vibrant colours too! Nice job

  5. #5 by Kat on February 20, 2012 - 9:38 am

    I love squash but surprisingly never made soup from it. It looks yummy. Love the rustic feel and that you kept some seeds out for the image.

  6. #6 by Allison Jacobs on February 20, 2012 - 1:04 pm

    I love butternut squash soup….I bet this was delicious! Love that kitchen towel in the 2nd image–the blue plays off the color of the squash so well!

  7. #7 by Stacey S on February 20, 2012 - 3:33 pm

    Your images are wonderful – you convey the feeling of a warm soup on a cold winter day. LOVE the detail of the seeds and the perfect swirl in the soup. 🙂

  8. #8 by Carey on February 21, 2012 - 5:11 am

    I love how you used the lighting here, Kirsten! I love how dramatic it is. The seeds are excellent in the raw side. (I played with a butternut squash for our ‘on white challenge’ and I know it is TOUGH to capture!!! you did excellent). I love the styling and moodiness of the light in the final dish where the light hits the soup just so. Beautiful.

  9. #9 by Laurie on February 21, 2012 - 7:35 pm

    I too love the lighting.. and the turquoise plate under the bowl. So pretty!
    Thanks for sharing the recipe too.. I have to put more effort into that part of my post. 🙂

  10. #10 by Kim - Liv Life on February 27, 2012 - 4:15 pm

    I frequently forget to try shots from overhead, and I simply adore the shot of the soup! Butternut squash is one of my all time favorites, and I serve a similar soup for Thanksgiving every year. I’m eager to give your version a try, I’ve not tried mine with carrots before, but I’ll bet it’s wonderful! Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

